ESPERANZ'ARTS

Arts For All

Alexandra Soumm

Making the arts accessible to the greatest number of people, and in particular to people in situations of great precariousness, disability or loneliness, has been an obsession for me for more than ten years.

 

Playing in large and beautiful concert halls, working with great colleagues and travelling to many countries, is a great opportunity that I have had since I was a child, but the desire to play for a diverse audience has always been there.

In 2011, I suggested to my friend Paloma Kouider that she spend New Year's Eve in a shelter for the homeless. This experience had a profound impact on us, but we knew that in order to create real change in the long term, we needed an appropriate structure, a platform where artists with the same deep desires as us could also share their talent, their passion, their time, with those who are in such need of beauty and humanity.

It was at that time that Maria Mosconi joined us, and in May 2012, the Esperanz'Arts association was born. Since then, it has grown to include more than 70 volunteer artists, all deeply committed to the way art is shared in our society. 

There are so many injustices to fight, so many bonds to create, so much beauty to offer. Of course, art cannot provide a roof over your head, nor can it heal a handicap, but it allows you to escape, to learn, to know something else, to question yourself, to dream...

 

A big thank you to the people who have supported us from the very beginning, to the structures who have trusted us, to the artists who give so much.

ESPERANZ'ARTS

Arts For All

Alexandra Soumm

Rendre les arts accessibles au plus grand nombre, et notamment aux personnes en situation de grande précarité, de handicap, ou de solitude, a été une obsession pour moi depuis plus de dix ans.

 

Jouer dans de grandes et belles salles de concerts, travailler avec des collègues formidables et voyager dans de nombreux pays, est une grande chance que j'ai eu depuis toute petite, mais l'envie de jouer pour un public diversifié a toujours été là.

En 2011, j'ai proposé à mon amie Paloma Kouider de passer le Révéillon du nouvel an dans un centre d'accueil pour les sans-abri. Cette expérience nous a profondément marqué, mais nous savions que pour créer un réel changement sur le long terme, il nous fallait une structure adaptée, une plateforme où les artistes ayant les mêmes envies profondes que nous pouvaient, eux aussi, partager leur talent, leur passion, leur temps, avec ceux qui ont tant besoin de beauté et d'humanité.

C'est à ce moment-là que Maria Mosconi nous a joint, et en mai 2012, l'association Esperanz'Arts était née. Depuis, celle-ci compte plus de 70 artistes bénévoles, tous profondément engagés dans la façon dont l'art est partagé dans notre société. 

Ily a tant d'injustices à combattre, tant de liens à créer, tant de beauté à offrir. Bien sûr, l'art ne peut pas donner un toit, ni ne peut guérir un handicap, mais il permet de s'évader, de s'instruire, de connaître autre chose, de s'interroger, de rêver...

 

Un grand merci aux personnes qui nous ont soutenu depuis le tout début, aux structures qui nous ont fait confiance, aux artistes qui donnent tant.